Feminism 

So this may a bit of a touchy subject for some, but as a woman, I do believe in feminism. 

And when I say that I include men in this as well. Equality isn’t just for one person, race, sex or class it’s for everyone. 

I really think it’s important that we all should be able to have the same wage, as well as having the same opportunities as everyone else. 

Over the past year, I’ve read three feminist books and I would like to read a few more. They are Daring to Drive by Manal Al Sharif, We Should All be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg. 

I really enjoyed reading them and I feel that they were able to help me realise that we are lucky to be living in this century but also that women need to stand up for ourselves more.

I also enjoyed reading I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai. This book made me realise the importance of education for both men and women. I am grateful for my own opportunity to go to college and been able to enjoy that experience. Education is so important for everyone. 

I think I keep saying this but one book I hope, at some point, to read I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou. It’s funny, when I was in fifth year (about 17 or so) our teacher told us to get this book, but then told us to get another. So it’s been on my list for years and I will read it. 

Another I’d like to read is Yes Please by Amy Poehler. It looks like an interesting book that would also be quite humorous. 

Now these are just some of the many, many feminist books that are out there. Like with so many other genres, you would need several lifetimes to read them all. And even then you would probably need several more to read the new ones that come out. 

If there is any you think I missed, or that you would recommend, let me know in the comments. 

Leave a comment